top of page

More than an organic plantation

We are creating a cacao forest in Nicaragua that contributes to reforestation of cleared land and shall provide an important basis for life for people and animals.

 

​With our project we want to support people, who live in this region. They can benefit from our idea and learn how they can live in harmony with nature and counteract the destruction of their own environment through responsible actions.

Indispensable forest

Intact forests are important to mankind. Still, deforestation is threatening more and more forest areas all around the world. Forest provides shade, is cooling in summer and warming in winter. Forests store water, purify the air and produce the oxygen that keeps all creatures alive.

 

Forest gives life!

Infographic: Why forests are so important to us

Food Forest – edible woods

A forest cannot only consist of wooden trees. So-called agroforestry systems combine agriculture and forestry: Various cultivated plants, wood and fruit trees are planted together in such a way that a diverse ecosystem is created. It should not only provide a habitat for plants and animals, but at the same time create a basis for life for its human inhabitants.

Nature as a role model

For us, cocoa is the heart of the forest, because cocoa trees grow best in symbiosis with other trees and without the use of chemicals. We rely exclusively on organic and sustainable techniques with the aim of establishing permanently functioning, natural cycles. But every now and then we have to give our forest a helping hand.

In our agroforestry system in Nicaragua, native trees such as madero negro, ceiba, cenizero and roble not only naturally provide nutrients for the cacao trees but also keep pests away. Bananas, pears, avocado, rambutan, cinnamon, cashew and many local useful and medicinal plants provide people and animals with plenty of food all year round. In this way, a biodiverse forest system is created with many ecological niches, which also provides a habitat for a diverse range of wildlife.

Chontales and Daniel make Bokashi compost

A quick compost is created here using the Bokashi principle - a new technique for Daniel and Chontales.

"In a society, where future plans don't have space, there is a need for a living example of how you can shape the future sustainably with your present actions ."

––––––– Susanne Woda, founder of "We love Cacao"

Earth Care, People Care, Fair Share

Regardless of whether it is called an “agroforestry system”, “food forest” or “permaculture” – it always starts with the same idea: living in sync with nature, rather than at its expense.

But a sustainable idea must also include the society living in the environment. It's not just the careful treatment of the earth as the source of all life ("Earth Care") that counts, but also the people who live on it ("People Care") and the fair distribution of the proceeds ("Fair Share"). These basic principles of permaculture are also the cornerstones of our world view and a prerequisite for a rethink in society.

The project is intended to contribute to the well-being of the society in which we live. We want to show people from the region that it is possible to create added value from nature without destroying it. This ideology should be passed on to as many as possible: workers, neighbors, residents of neighboring communities and visitors. That's why we work with local cooperatives and allow residents of the region to participate in our work both intellectually and economically. In implementing our reforestation, we received support from "Sano y Salvo", an association of farmers committed to organic agriculture and food forests. The chocolate that we send as gifts is processed from the bean to the end product ("bean-to-bar") by the cocoa cooperative "COSEMUCRIM" in Sabalos. In this way, we create important added value for the population in the region.

bottom of page

top of page

Kakaowald – mehr als eine organische Plantage

In Nicaragua schaffen wir einen Kakaowald, der ein Stück zur Wiederaufforstung gerodeter Landflächen beiträgt und gleichzeitig wichtige Lebensgrundlage für Mensch und Tier bildet.

Mit unseren Aktivitäten möchten wir die Menschen unterstützen, denen wir tagtäglich begegnen. Sie sollen von unserer Idee profitieren und lernen, wie sie im Einklang mit der Natur leben und der Zerstörung ihrer eigenen Umwelt durch verantwortungsbewusstes Handeln entgegenwirken können.

Lebenswichtiger Wald

Intakte Wälder sind wichtig für uns: Wald spendet Schatten und speichert Wasser. Er kühlt im Sommer und wärmt im Winter, reinigt die Luft und produziert überlebenswichtigen Sauerstoff. Wald bietet Schutz und ist die Grundlage für eine große Vielfalt an Tieren und Pflanzen.

Wald ist Leben!

Infografik: Warum Wald so wichtig für uns ist

Food Forest – der essbare Wald

Ein Wald muss nicht nur aus Holzbäumen bestehen. Sogenannte Agroforst-Systeme kombinieren Land- und Forstwirtschaft miteinander. Dabei werden verschiedene Kulturpflanzen, Holz- und Obstbäume so zusammen angepflanzt, dass ein vielfältiges Ökosystem entsteht. Es soll nicht nur Pflanzen und Tieren einen Lebensraum bieten, sondern schafft gleichzeitig auch eine Lebensgrundlage für seine menschlichen Bewohner.

Die Natur zum Vorbild

Bei uns bildet Kakao das Herz des Waldes, denn Kakaobäume wachsen am besten in Symbiose mit anderen Bäumen und ganz ohne Einsatz von Chemie. Wir setzen ausschließlich auf organische und nachhaltige Techniken mit dem Ziel, dauerhaft funktionierende, naturnahe Kreisläufe zu etablieren. Ab und zu müssen wir unserem Wald aber doch unter die Arme greifen.

 

In unserem Agroforst-System in Nicaragua stellen heimische Bäume wie Madero Negro, Ceiba, Cenizero und Roble nicht nur auf natürliche Weise Nährstoffe für die Kakaobäume bereit sondern halten auch Schädlinge fern. Bananen, Birnen, Avocado, Rambutan, Zimt, Cashew und viele einheimische Nutz- und Medizinalpflanzen versorgen Mensch und Tier das ganze Jahr über mit reichlich Nahrung. Auf diese Weise entsteht ein biodiverses Waldsystem mit vielen ökologischen Nischen, das auch Lebensraum für eine vielfältige Tierwelt Fauna bietet.

Chontales und Daniel stellen Bokashi-Kompost her

Hier entsteht ein Schnellkompost nach dem Bokashi-Prinzip – eine neue Technik für Daniel und Chontales.

"In einer Gesellschaft, in der kein Platz ist für Zukunftspläne, bedarf es eines lebendigen Vorbilds dessen, wie man mit seinem heutigen Tun die Zukunft nachhaltig gestalten kann."

––––––– Susanne Woda, Gründerin von "We love Cacao"

Earth Care, People Care, Fair Share

Egal ob "Agroforst-System", "Food-Forest" oder "Permakultur" – am Anfang steht immer die gleiche Idee: Das Leben im Gleichlauf mit der Natur, statt auf deren Kosten.

Eine nachhaltige Idee muss auch die in der Umwelt lebende Gesellschaft mit einbeziehen. Es zählt nicht nur der achtsame Umgang mit der Erde als Quelle allen Lebens ("Earth Care"), sondern sauch mit den Menschen die darauf leben ("People Care") und die gerechte Verteilung der Erträge ("Fair Share"). Diese Grundprinzipien der Permakultur sind auch die Grundpfeiler meines Weltbildes und Voraussetzung für ein Umdenken in der Gesellschaft.

Das Projekt soll zum Wohle der Gesellschaft, in der ich lebe, beitragen. Ich möchte den Menschen aus der Region zeigen, dass es möglich ist, Mehrwert aus der Natur zu schöpfen, ohne sie zu zerstören. Diese Ideologie soll an möglichst viele weitergegeben werden: Arbeiter, Nachbarn, Einwohner der benachbarten Kommunen und Besucher. Deswegen arbeiten wir mit lokalen Kooperativen zusammen und lassen so Bewohner der Region an unserem Schaffen ideell und wirtschaftlich teilhaben. Bei der Umsetzung unserer Wiederaufforstung haben wir Schützenhilfe von "Sano y Salvo" erhalten, einer Vereinigung von Bauern, die sich der organischen Landwirtschaft und Food-Forests verschrieben hat. Die Schokolade, die wir als Geschenksendungen verschicken, wird von der Kakao-Kooperative "COSEMUCRIM" in Sabalos von der Bohne bis zum Endprodukt ("Bean-to-Bar") verarbeitet. So schaffen wir wichtigen Mehrwert für die Bevölkerung in der Region.

bottom of page